Types of Visas for Foreigners Visiting Nigeria

By Helen E. Ijewere, Nolands Nigeria

There are three main types of visas: ordinary visa, diplomatic visa and gratis courtesy visa. Ordinary visas come in three different types: transit visa, single journey visa and multiple journey visa.

Transit visas are for travellers whose final destination is not Nigeria, i.e. they are just passing through. This visa is only valid for seven days.

Single journey visas are only valid for a single entry. They also come in three forms: short visit visa, subject to regularisation for residence work permit (STR) and temporary work permit (TWP). The short visit visa is a single entry visa for tourism, family or business visits, and is valid for 90 days. The STR visa is for foreigners who want to take up employment in Nigeria. Their employer makes the application and it is usually granted for 90 days. Subsequently, the employer applies for a residence work permit for a maximum of two years. The TWP is for foreigners who have assignments for short periods and is granted for a maximum of 90 days.

The multiple journey visa is for foreigners who need to attend meetings, conferences, seminars, trade fairs, musical concerts, etc. and is valid for 90 days.

The diplomatic visa is issued to members of the diplomatic corps and their households. The gratis courtesy visa is issued to foreign government officials on official business who are not members of the diplomatic corps.

Helen E. Ijewere

Helen E. Ijewere

Nolands Nigeria, Lagos, Nigeria
T: +234 802 318 2843
E: E: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; W: www.nolands.ng

Published: March 2017 l Photo:  el9th - Fotolia.com

Ggi Logo 150x109px

GGI Global Alliance AG

Sihlbruggstrasse 140
6340 Baar


T: +41 41 7252500
F: +41 41 7252501
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.